Conservatively Speaking

State Senator Mary Lazich (R-New Berlin) represents parts of four counties: Milwaukee, Waukesha, Racine, and Walworth. Her Senate District 28 includes New Berlin, Franklin, Greendale, Hales Corners, Muskego, Waterford, Big Bend, the town of Vernon and parts of Greenfield, East Troy, and Mukwonago. Senator Lazich has been in the Legislature for more than a decade. She considers herself a tireless crusader for lower taxes, reduced spending and smaller government.

Senate Republicans Choose Leadership and Welcomes New Members

Today the Senate Republican Caucus convened to elect leaders for the upcoming legislative session.  The leadership, all selected via unanimous approval, is:

Majority Leader: Senator Scott Fitzgerald
President: Senator Mike Ellis
President Pro-Temp: Senator Joe Leibham
Assistant Majority Leader: Senator Glen Grothman
Caucus Chair: Senator Frank Lasee
Vice Caucus Chair: Senator Sheila Harsdorf

Also, the Senate Republican Caucus welcomed its three newest members:

Senator-elect Rick Gudex (Fond du Lac)
Senator-elect Tom Tiffany (Hazelhurst)
Presumptive Senator-elect Paul Farrow (Pewaukee)

In addition, Governor Walker greeted the caucus and announced issues to be tackled during the upcoming session, including maintaining a balanced budget, holding the line on taxes, and improving education.  He noted that we made great progress over the last two years, and the work is far from finished.  Governor Walker will be addressing each of the four state legislative caucuses.  The 2013-2014 Legislative session begins with inauguration ceremonies January 7, 2013.


This site uses Facebook comments to make it easier for you to contribute. If you see a comment you would like to flag for spam or abuse, click the "x" in the upper right of it. By posting, you agree to our Terms of Use.

Page Tools