New faces enter school board races

Two elections will have choices

Jan. 5, 2010

Voters in the West Allis-West Milwaukee, Greenfield and Whitnall school districts will have plenty of choices this spring as there will be contested elections in all three districts.

With five people running running for two seats on the Greenfield School Board, a primary election will be held Feb. 16 to eliminate one candidate. The general election for all races is April 6.

West Allis

Six people filed to run for four at-large seats on the West Allis-West Milwaukee School Board.

Incumbents Annette Frymark, 12017 W. Burdick Ave.; George Sotiros, 12670 W. North Court; and Sue Stalewski, 1237 S. 54th St., have filed for re-election by Tuesday's 5 p.m. deadline.

Challengers Jake Dreske, 8758 W. McMyron St.; Jane Edgar, 1449 S. 53rd St.; and Len Kopet, 2229 S. 107th St., have also filed.

Three candidates will be elected to a three-year term, and the fourth-place vote-getter will get a one-year term. A February primary won’t be necessary.

School Board President Joanie Luedke decided not to seek re-election. Her decision means there will be at least one new face on the board come April, and that board will have to select a new president.

Board members make $6,270 per year; the board president earns $7,765.


A primary election will be held for the Greenfield School Board after five people filed for two open seats.
Incumbents Cathy Walsh, 7117 W. Allerton Ave., and board President Pam Sierzchulski, 7935 W. Cold Spring Road, will run to retain their seats.

Donald Carlson, 5082 W. Colonial Court; John Butschli Jr., 4650 S. 49th St.; and David Richlen, 4320 W. Anthony Drive, will also be on the ballot in April.

Greenfield board members are elected to three-year terms at a salary of $4,200 per year.

The primary will be held Feb. 16, with top four advancing to the general election on April 6.

Meanwhile, the Greenfield municipal judge Thomas Wilkoski will keep his seat after he was the only to file for the position. The judge is elected to a four-year term at a salary of $26,016.


Four people are running for the three seats on the Whitnall School Board.

Incumbents Michael Clarizio, 4559 S. 119th St., Greenfield, and Suzette Larson, 5593 S. Meadow Park Court, Hales Corners, will face two challengers — Stephanie A. Richter, 6721 Parkedge Circle, Franklin, and Jon D. Jones, 6433 S. 122nd St., Franklin.

Incumbent Rick Kollauf is not seeking re-election.

Whitnall School Board members are elected to three-year terms with an annual salary of $3,000. The district encompasses Hales Corners and parts of Franklin and Greenfield.

Local Crime Map



Latest Photo Galleries